Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Urban and rural structures are two consequential components of a society. They have complementary effect and their support and collaboration in different aspects of economy and culture strengthens and fortifies the whole society when facing vicissitudes and adversities. Both of them should be considered in policies and decision makings. Ignoring each of them or sacrificing one for the sake of other would result in prejudicial and detrimental consequences for the whole.

The role and importance of cities although critical and consequential, can be of more or less significance in different societies around the globe. Some countries are rural based with few cities, such as Bhutan or Mongolia while you can trace some other countries on the map that are merely urban base reminding city-states of the past, such as Singapore or Hong Kong. And others which find a status somewhere in between. In all these societies, cities especially the extensive metropolitan types and even unimportant looking small towns interspersed throughout the country have their significant role encompassing different aspects of economy, education and culture.

Cities as well as any other society vacillates through rise and falls of prosperity and advancement, might have periods of rise or decline due to management issues of the city itself or politic and economic matters of the country. Sometimes calamities and disasters such earthquake or storm hit the city. Such as the great earthquake which hit Kathmandu, Nepal few years age and inflicted a great harm to the magnificent historical site in the center of the city. No matter why, the survival and continuance of cities and their cultural accommodation to the country is of paramount importance.

On the other hand, city's failure or bankruptcy would lead to deleterious upshots. Cities are the center of education. Most great schools and universities are gathered in cities. Cities are where great decision making in policy and economy is done. Cities are were the heritage and history of the nation is materialized in form of architecture, libraries and museums. Decline of the city, has its negative and detrimental effect on the whole society. Conservation and of this heritage is expensive. You have to spent money to take care of it. Keeping the architecture with periodic repair and renovation costs money. Museums need investments to survive and to accommodate to the needs and anticipations of the generation. Libraries have to keep updated with new arrivals. Some of these recompense partly with their own kinds of income. Museums and repositories can sell tickets, libraries and halls can hold conventions and conferences. Some of these benefit from donations and contribution. City councils acknowledge their significance and value in their policy makings and budget planning. But the cultural value of these heritages are of such importance that they need a supervising look to oversee the process of management and make sure that they are functioning well without great impediments.

Although cultural identity as well as economic activities and social interaction have their root both in the cities especially big cities and outside in rural and suburban communities, cities have a major role in flourishing and preserving cultural legacy. They have to be supported and sustained in any condition for generations to come. Their failure or loss can be irrecoverable to society and governments have to make sure that their doing well at any possible condition