Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

To discourage a student in pursuing a field of study in which a college or university has extrapolated she won't succeed is a shortcut full of shortcomings and flaws. Such act might have negative consequences both for the student and the society. In deciding a field of study to be continued or to be changed, many factors should be taken into account.

The first question which should be answered is that in evaluating a student's ability to pursue a field of study has different aspects of his ability and talents considered? There are many examples of important figures in the history of science and literature which their great talent were not discovered at the first point. Some of those pursued their dreams by perseverance, despite the negative impulses they received from their school and society, and finally their talents and abilities were acknowledged and admired. Ramon Kakhal is one of these examples. A Spanish young student who was always admonished in school because of his inability to focus and concentrate on study, didn’t give up. and after years endeavor and perseverance, he introduced a way to color pathologic specimens and became one of the most influential figures in the history of medicine.

Furthermore it is important to remind individual's talent and ability has different aspects. Some are slow learners, some other fast; some learn through reading but some other would more benefit from audiovisual learning supplements. Some have aspects of disability which should be identified and coped with in a decent way. Does the institute which wants to discourage a student in a field which has chosen and might longed for, considered all the aspect the student's ability and talent before deciding to do so? Helen Keller who suffered severely from both visual and hearing disabilities, was actually discovered by the endeavor of an unknown teacher who didn’t give in and introduced her to the world of literature and intellectuality. What would ever happen if that same teacher simply came to such conclusion that Helen lacked the necessary requisites of success.

Dissuading people from pursuing their dream might also have negative psychological consequences. A field of study a student has chosen, is something that she has thought about it for quite a bit. She might have fantasized about it or have seen herself in a job or position which that field would provide for him. And now imagine a consultant without considering all these, in a short session of consultation step on all these dreams.

Educational institutes have the great responsibility of providing educational facilities for student and guide them all the way to graduation. Some student may tread the years of study fast and some other slow. Some are able to pass all the steps without difficulty and hindrance, some others might need help and assistance. I believe it is must for universities and schools to acknowledge different capabilities of students in the field they are pursuing, be able to search strong and weak sides of each student and provide the most facilities they can for the student to pursue their dream. If a student doesn’t look to succeed in a field, the first thing the institute should ask is that if the institute itself has provided all the possible ways of success for the student?