Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument concludes the so-called antiquated Palean baskets found in the vicinity of the village with the same name, were not uniquely Palean. The conclusion is based on the premise that archeologists have discovered such baskets in Lithos, another village across a river, a river which is very deep and broad so that the ancient Paleans could have only passed it by boat and no Palean boats have been found around. The reasoning provided for the argument is logically flawed. There are several assumption that have not been taken into account which if true would make the conclusion unacceptable and refuted.

First thing to consider in logic which is true in all fields of science including archeology is that if you cannot find something does not mean that in does not exist or has not existed in the past. Archeologist have not discovered a Palean boat to cross the river. But we should consider the probability that such a boat had existed but waits to be founded somewhere in the future or there have been such a kind of boat but since has been constructed from decomposable material, it has been changed into a part of soil.

Second, the argument should consider other ways of passing the river in the past. Are there parts of the river high up the current or far down which the river narrows or become less deep so people from the villages could wade through the torrent or use simpler forms of transferring equipment to use and pass the river.

Third the argument has not explained in detail that baskets found in Lithus are how much similar to those of Palean. Are they completely the same? Anyway both villages looks to be in the same environmental situation with the same raw sources for craft making and similar needs according to same climate and resources. So Lithus villagers might have made similar baskets to Palean because of similar needs but not exactly the same in structure of shape.

To reach a conclusion, if the argument would consider the aforementioned assumptions and show that there was absolutely impossible ways to pass the river up or down the stream and bring enough evidence to show there has been no doubt for a boat to have been used and how much the two baskets found were similar, the argument would be acceptable. Otherwise it is flawed and easily refuted.