To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

There is no doubt that some of the most important aspects of a society always concentrate in big cities of that society. Studying big cities and there special facets of it, gives a good clue of the characteristics of that community. But at the same time it is important to consider that all potentials of a society does not accumulate in its big cities. Not considering small towns, rural areas and in some societies, the nomadic life, would bring about a great bias in reaching a correct concept of the whole society.

It is important to keep in mind that all societies are not urban based. Activity and life in some countries, or some regions and provinces of countries are distributed outside big cities. Not considering this in analysis and demographics, would lead to mistakes and misconceptions and add to the biases and prejudices in the whole concept. This was what happened in 2016 presidential election of the United States. Although Democrats were ahead in some polls before the election, ignoring those people from remote areas who poll answering machines might not even have access to them changed the results. The same was true for 2009 presidential election of my home country, Iran. Despite the great support of middle class in big cities and the capital, Tehran, for the moderate candidate, Mousavi, the vast support of the mass in small town and villages, also nomadic people from pastures for the conservative candidate led to a result that was not even believable for the populace in big cities.

We are in the age of Internet, communication and great advancement in different aspects of technology. Television, cyberspace and social media has given access for news and data to all people close and far, in big and small cities, in rural and urban people. Ideas are spread fast and can be shared by everyone especially in advanced countries. However all these does not fill the everyday life of people especially outside big cities. People from different backgrounds, with other experiences leading different ways of life have their own characteristics. Ignoring them would give false results in our understanding of a society as a whole. There are numerous examples in the past and even recent year that a movement begins from small towns, rural area and even pastures, expand all the way to big cities and effect the whole society in a big scale. This is what happened with the Mongols from hinterland and their great conquest of Eurasia.

There are aspects of civilization that are gathered in big cities. This is true. Big universities, research centers, huge libraries, many facilities for art study and practice. These are all important characters of a society, no doubt. But looking the big picture there are other facets of life and experience which you have to turn your head outside the big cities, into small towns and rural life. Considering these two at the same time, aspects of life in big cities and characteristics of people outside big cities, would give that big picture and a closer concept of what is the society as a whole.