In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however,and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if these assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author recommends the city government spends more money on recreational facilities along The Manson River. While this suggestion may help to increase the satisfaction of Manson City residents, the reasoning of the argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, would seriously challenge the author's recommendation.

To start with, the author mentions the recently-announced plans to clean up the Manson River and further asserts that use of the river for water sports is sure to increase. This assertion relies heavily on the assumption that the cleaning plans of Mansion River will come to effect very soon. It is possible that the pollution of Mansion River is so serious that can not be reversed, or at least not in a short period of time. If this is the case, then it would be unreasonable to invest large sums of money into riverside recreasonal facilities in this year's budget since people still won't use Manson River for water sports due to its low water quality.

In addition, granted that the measures taken by the state to clean up the Mansion River are effective, the author's recommendation may also be impaired by another dubious assumption that the water quality of Mansion RIver and lack of recreational facilities are the only two reasons that are preventing people from using it for water sports. We do not know whether Mansion River is too shallow or too currential for recreational activities. It is of equal possibilities that the River is protected because it is the habitation for rare species or other rivers nearby serve as better choices for city residents for water sports. If any of the scenario is true, it would make no sence to allocate more budget to Mason River recreational facilities.

Finally, even if we concede that money spent on riverside recreational facilities along Manson River will turn it into the top choice for city residents' recreational activites, it is of equal importance that we keep cautious about the assumption that residents will actually take part in water sports. It is not a safely guranteed conclusion that can be readily derived from the results of surveys showing City residents ranking water sports among their favorites. When referring to "favorite", people may be indicating that they enjoy watching water sports competitions rather than actively join the game. If so, building recreational facilities along Manson River would be unnecessary due to lack of demands from residents.

To draw a conclusion, while I sympathize with the author's intention of better serving city residents' recreational requirements, whether or not to allocation more budget on riverside recreational facilities remains fundamentally depending on the reliability of the underlying assumptions. We need to carefully consider these assumptions to better evaluate the author's recommendation.