Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The goal of technological advancement is something that society has been discussing for years. These discussions have increased with the advent of smartphones and increased speeds in internet speeds. Technological advancement increases people's efficiency and gives people more leisure time. However increase leisure time can negatively effect society since people become lazier and have more time to create more problems with increases in leisure time.

More leisure time from technological advances causes people to become lazier. Being lazier creates a lot of problems for society. One example is seen in the increase in overweight people in society. The obsetity rate in the United States has tripled in the past fifty years and this corresponds with increases in leisure time as a result the techonological advances over the time period. The increase in people who are overweight costs the society millions in dollars in health care costs. Increased leisure time causes laziness in a society.

More leisure time leads to people enaging in activities that do not help society. Increased leisure time can give people more oppurnity to enage in risky behavior. One behavior that is directly effected by an increase in leisure time is drinking and driving. People are dying from drunking drivings at a rate of 24 people per day. When people have more leisure time, they are more likely to drink. With the increased likelyhood of them drinking, there is greater probability of them driving drunk. This would increase the rate of people dying from drunk drivers. People enage in activities that to do not help society when they are given increased leisure time from technological advances.

Techological advances create many good things for society. The primary goal of these advances are being debated. The primary goal fo these advances should not be create more leisure time for people through increasing the efficiency of each worker. By increasing leisure time, people become increasely lazier and more likely to enage in activities that create problems for society.