Some people like to buy a piece of technological device as soon as it is available in the market Other people prefer to buy it after many people have adopted it Which do you prefer

The idea that people have a cult about premier high-tech brands, especially Apple, is far from an exaggeration, which could be proved by swarms of people queuing in front of retailer stores, desperately craving for a new device, when Apple releases new editions of its products. For those people, buying the newest tech product can bring them a brand new experience and an immediate gratification of vanity, but for me, making a better purchasing decision at a more reasonable price makes the waiting process much more worthwhile.

Indeed, the recently introduced products can bring you functions you have never experienced before, for example, the face ID in iPhone X, which could be intriguing.But being an early adopter does not necessarily mean making the right decision. Innovative functions in the new devices could be unstable, or there even could be bugs in the systems of those devices. After all, problems often occur in the first several months after a certain product hit the market. On the contrary, if we choose to wait, the potential instability of new functions could be improved and the bugs solved. Beside, we can know other people’s comments on the device we are interested in, which we can never hear through advertisements on TV and other marketing channels, because commercials often beautify their products, neglecting the drawbacks and exaggerating the salient features. So the customers will be eager to get one. Furthermore, by giving us time to really inspect our true needs instead of purchasing impulsively, a period of time waiting is also crucial for us to make rational decisions.

People may enjoy the thrill of having something before others, of keeping up with the latest trend, and of partaking in the “insider” community of the tech world, which makes them feel they have a higher social status than others. But this satisfaction comes at a price, often an exorbitant one. Technological devices are expensive, not to mention the ones newly available in the market with a high price tag that is out of reach for many customers. But at the same time, technology renovates very fast, so it is impossible for the high-tech products to maintain the high price for a long time. If you choose to wait, you can easily save a lot of money. More importantly, tech companies often release several products at the same time to ultimately exploit people’s crave for new technology. Take Apple as an example. In every new product announcement conference, it usually releases a series of new products, such as iPhone, iPad, iWatch, and Macbook. If Apple fans want to purchase all the new products, they have to spend thousands of RMB on Apple products alone. What if they are fans of other brands as well? It will be an unbearable financial pressure for those early adopters.

In conclusion, instead of jumping at a new technological product once it is available, it only takes a little patience for you to obtain one with a higher cost performance. Otherwise, your technological devices bought out of hotheaded decisions are destined to retire to the landfill.