Do you agree or disagree the high school students are required to study many different subjects at same time or they should study only three or four subjects at a time.

Nowadays, education not only plays an essential role in students' growth, but also has a great impact on their career selection. Due to the significance of education, the teaching strategy taken by school becomes an important part as well. Some people advocates high school students should study many kinds of subjects at the same time, because it can broaden their mind and widen their scope of knowledge. From my perspective, I consider it is not a very smart proposal. I suggest that they should study only three or four subjects at a time.

First of all, it is harmful for them to develop habits. We all know that school life is not only contains study knowledge from textbooks, but also consists of some extracurricular activities. Students can learn plenty of skills in them. For example, if someone likes playing football, he has to know how to deal with the relationships among teammates, so he will improve his teamwork ability. Nevertheless, if students are asked to learn many courses, they will be buried in countless assignments and endless exams, so they will have no time to develop their own habits. Suppose that someone is interested in debate, and he want to join in a debate club, improve his debate level and make friends with students who have the same habit as him. While he has to give up this idea, as he has to learn these compulsory courses.

Besides, it has negative effect on their favorable subjects. For instance, my friend Eric, he is really good at English, and he wants to be an English teacher in the future. As we all know, in order to speak English fluently, what you need to do is keeping practicing. Unfortunately, he has to pass the physics and chemistry exam so that he can graduate from his high school, which makes him confused. Because he totally does not good at these subjects at all. In his mind, he considers that to learn these courses wastes too much time. He tells me he feels depressed and gets bored of school. His English grades get down as well. That's really a pity.

Admittedly, to study many kinds of subjects can assist students to know what field they are fit for. They may develop interest in these new subjects they didn't hear of before. However, students should have their own rights to decide what kind of subjects they like indeed. Thus, why not let them observe in different classrooms, and then allow them to make final decision on what courses they want to enroll. That will beneficial for students as they can get brief impression of each class.

For these reasons, I prefer students should study only three or four subjects.