Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than today

Teacher is a person who not only imparts knowledge to their students, but also teaches them positive values. Some experts point out that teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past than they were nowaday. As far as I'm concerned, I disagree with this statement.

Firstly, it is convenient for students to acquire good education from famous teachers. With the development of technology, the Internet has changed everyone's life. Today, it is easier for students who are willing to learn knowledge of specific field to get such resources. For example, my friend Eric is interested in Computer Science. In the past, he might have no way to learn C programming language by himself. But today, he can easily sign up such a course on the Coursera and learn from professors who teach in Stanford University. He can keep pace with other students to watch class videos and accomplish assignments. In other words, the Internet gives these professors chance to spread their ideas, makes them more influential and be respected by students all over the world.

Secondly, parents pay more attention to their children's education. It leads them appreciate teachers. As you know, compared with the past, social competition has been more drastic. Companies need employees who are skillful and experienced. So, parents hope their children to have plenty expertise and be competent enough to hunt for a well-paid job. That means children should study well, and then they will be adopted by a famous university. This process should be supervised by teachers every day. With the assistance of teachers, children will learn well in a good circumstace. Thus, parents respect teachers to receive some feedback from them.

Thirdly, teachers are high-qualitative. In the past, teachers had no opportunities to study abroad. And without the Internet, their materials were limited as well. Knowledge is changing every day, but these outdated materials didn't change anymore. What they teach may have some mistakes. However, today, teachers have more chances to communicate with other experienced professors. They can learn from each other, and improve their level at the same time. With the improvement of their level, their status are elevated, too.

These reasons display that teacher is a valued job nowadays. They use their efforts to educate students. I believe this is an appreciated career.