Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

In this memorandum, the author claims that the losing of advertising revenues and the complaints from viewers is due to the reduction of weather and local news. In order to attract viewers and advertising contracts, they should restore the time of weather and local news to the former level. This argument, at first glimpse, seemingly makes sense a lot. But it conveals some crucial flaws which will undermine it.

First of all, this article impute the decline of advertising revenues only to less weather and local news, but we don't know whether this late-night news program has some other changes. Maybe they hire some new editors and their reports are not intriguing than the experienced employees'. If the advertising companies realize that the program is becoming more and more dull, it is normal for them to cancel their contracts. Thus he should clarify this point.

Moreover, this memorandum points out that most of the complaints from viewers are about the weather and local news. However, the author don't advert the number of these complaints. Since people have a gradual process to accomodate the change, it is reasonable for them to complain about it at first. So, if the number of these complaints is not too many, or the number of them is in decline as the time goes, I think it is receivable.

Last but not the least, this article don't mention that the economy circumstance of this country. Maybe this country is in a depression and people consume fewer commodities and buy fewer goods than the past. Thus, the advertising firms do not have enough money to propagandize their products on television. So, if he cannot provide some other information, this idea is conceivable.

To sum up, the author have to consider other reasons about the change of their television program. We need to know whether they recruit some neophytes who cannot produce an attractive report. We also want to know the number of these complaints from viewers. At last, we still need to know the economy circumstance of this country. If he can provide these evidences, his argument will be more compelling.