Claim The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint Reason Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea Write a respo

Of what importance is an idea that cannot be defended or proved by the giver? The value of an idea is in the points given to support its value or to defend its authenticity. The prompt states that to test the viability of an argument, the presenter of the argument needs to be able to defend his idea against the views provided by others. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim and argue that before ideas are accepted they should be proved by the person presenting them.

To start, ideas stem from either the experience or prescient nature of an individual. In most cases, as humans, we do not just present ideas without having points to back them up. This is also one of the ability being instilled in students: ability to take a side and justify their reasons for doing that. The analytical writing section of the general GRE is a good example of this. Of what importance is taking a side on an issue essay without the ability to clearly explain why the side is true and should be accepted. As the test graders expect, test writers should be able to defend their point of view even if it is not in alignment with that of the graders. Clear and distinct examples are able to convince the graders and earn more points. This example shows the importance of the ability to prove ones view though it might not be acceptable in all cases.

In another vein, the decisions to be taken in an organization will likely favour an employee who has more convincing points to back up his suggestion. For instance, consider two employees speaking in favour of the progress of their organization with different points of view. Perhaps, the organization needs more hands to meet up their various targets. Employee A might suggest that more hands be employed while B suggests that they should work overtime instead. As convincing as employee A's opinion might B, his view might be neglected if he cannot support his argument. Employee B might provide defend his view by considering the budget of the organization and the probability of not having a profit if more people are employed, the other employee might tend come to terms with this, considering the reasons provided.

In conclusion, to change the view of others lies in the ability to convince them to accept one's point of view. If people don’t see a reason to accept other peoples claim they tend to stick to their own opinions.