Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

An argument is generally made to persuade others about one's idea or viewpoint. Thus, the claim that best test of an argument comes when it is able to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint holds good. However, the reason based assumption that one can only discover the value of that idea when one is forced to defend it against the doubts and contrasting views, may not always hold true.

Since the ancient times most of the arguments have gained strength when they could convince the opposing viewpoint. For example, heliocentric theory put forward by Galileo had to go through the stringent opposition of those who propounded the geocentric theory. Galileo even though tried to convince the opponents of his viewpoint, he was persecuted. But, the reasoning given by Galileo formed the basis for later acceptance of it, as it was enriched by his desire to convince the opposing viewpoint through various experiments. Galileo was in fact able to discover the true value of his idea through the opposition.

Similarly, the conflict between the opposing camps of cold war about the type of government and economic system to be adopted, brought out the true merits present in each group. Even though the block led by USA's capitalistic ethos won the battle by 1990's, the worth of socialistic ideas of equality and justice did get recognized by opposing camp. Some of the European countries like the Scandinavian countries and the Great Britian did incorporate strong socialistic principles into their governance models to ensure welfare of the downtrodden and the needy. This triumph of capitalism and to an extent socialism would not have been possible if they did not have the ability to convince each other.

On the other hand there are instances where the true value of an idea can be discovered without offering any defence to doubts and contrasting viewpoints. For example, most of the religions like christianity, islam, etc. hold the viewpoint that the world is created by God. They do not try to defend it against the various opposing viewpoints in order to find the true value of the idea. For them it is just a matter of faith. They simply take the Bible or the Quran as gospel of truth even though they are presented with modern day scientific discoveries like the Big Bang theory.

In conclusion, even though the ultimate test of the argument lies in its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint, the discovery of true value of an idea may not require the defence against opposition on all occasions.