Claim The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint Reason Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea Write a respo

From policies to play-ground matches, from politics to performance of a player, a myriad number of debates happen across the globe. Ideal debates are a platform to put forward once point and to understand what exactly makes opponent think the other way. Sometime this debate lead us to enlightenment in the topic when the opponent identifies what our point lacked. in other times it gives an opportunity to help the other guy to get better picture of the topic. however, Not all debates happen with the sole intention of getting better clarity of the topic and in those scenarios, trying to convince the opponent will just be futile. The claim made by the prompt to test an argument by it's ability to convince opponent has a very narrow perspective and ignores other factors to judge an argument and the reason mentioned holds true only for the ideal debates.

In the Ideal debates mentioned above, It makes a sense to validate an argument by the way it can convince the opponent. in this rare scenario, the opponent will raise up with the valid questions identifying loopholes in the plaintiff's argument. Thus it provides an opportunity to the former to identify what his argument lacks and provide proper answers. In some cases the proppser of argument might even concede understanding his/her mistakes. In a world with only such debates, yes! judging an argument by the way it could convince opponent makes sense.

However, Not all debates are ideal as mentioned above. For instance, the opponent might be arguing just to defeat the opponent even when he knows that he is points are not valid. Back when we don't had man made satellites yet, Gellileo argued earth is mostly a sphere like body. Many religious debaters argued against it merely based on lack of such knowledge in religious text books. Now consider a debate were Gellileo is explaining why he thinks earth is round to 100's of religious guys who are not willing to listen at all. These people might just shout "how can you claim something that is not written in scriptures?" In such scenarios we can't judge his argument merely based on his ability to convince someone in the debate who didn't care to listen to scientific facts but to blindly oppose.

In conclusion, In healthier debates of scholars were everyone are willing to understand the things better, it makes sense to judge an argument by it's effectiveness in solving the doubts of others. However, In other debates were people are not listening to the argument at all, merely because it doesn't align with their view, we should be analyzing the argument in a more sensible manner by analyzing the debater point of view.