Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.Write a res

The author argues that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint . The author’s conclusion is manly based on a assumption that to defend an idea against doubts and numerous questions or contrasting views of others does ones really divulge the worth of that special idea. Although some believe that best way to test an argument with opposite view point while others does not. An argument consist of different premises and assumptions to calculate the conclusion of that argument. If this premises are well valid and well explain in the argument is sounds compelling and cogent to reader. I agree with the author as to provide well explanation to doubts make conclusion corroborate.

Firstly, the argument’s validity is mainly based on survey conducted by that authority, his nature, survey conditions, survey statistics, characteristics, people involved in that survey and their ages, etc. If any person is able to include this details in his argument , it will definitely seems to be good convincing to reader. Moreover, argument arise many questions and doubts to his reader or we can say opposition. As doubts arise, if the argument has valid conditions and features, it will solve such problems , and ultimately solutions.

Secondly, britishers always used debate or group discussions to resolve any problem in a society or province, because it was best compatible strategy to resolve problems in a argument. Debate or group discussion causes to extract a best solution of a problem by considering the claims and points from persons either opposite side or from same side. And even today , we use this tactic to solve problems in industry or any society or in political case. This method really able to discover a value of an idea by considering view points.

Finally but not least, when any scientist discovery any event in his life by giving hypothesis of his experiment. As this hypothesis is based on limited support of evidences , it will obviously raise problems. So, to solve this problems or doubts or questions to defend an idea is necessary by furnishing cogent evidence . If this is possible , his hypothesis will be proved.

In conclusion, as an argument is an amalgamation of variety of premises and from which we make conclusion, it will arise questions and doubts to a reader if premises and assumptions include in an argument are not supporting. And to defend a conclusion, it is necessary to provide cogent evidences with requiring details. Moreover, in case of survey, it is essential to include details about validity of survey, conditions and characteristics of survey, age limits of people involve in survey,etc to make it well sounding. In addition, it will also help to discover a new idea in world on the basis of well supporting data for scientists and researchers.