A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

A twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. However, there are still lots of evidence needed to be provide to strengthen the argument.

First, the memo states that the twenty-year study found the more salicylates the food have contain, the less headache the participants have. The author needs to provide us the evidence about the study group and the study is plausible. The background of the study is needed. However, if the study group is specialize in computer science instead of the chemistry of food. Than the study which they conclude could have errors or the wrong surmise, because of the lack of the particular knowledge. The author must tell us whether the research group is top notch of the field in order to make the claim more convincing.

Even if the study group of the twenty-year study of salicylates is plausible, the evidence of the salicylates could directly to ease the headache. However, if the participants enter the study when he/she was 5 years old. The headache might have the chance that decrease is because the participants getting older and older. After 20 years, the 25 years old man or woman have the ability to measure the headache by himself/herself instead of the high amount of the salicylates. The study model which could be the evidence of the salicylates could actually ease the pain should be provided.

Last but not the least, the author states that the food companies plan to increase the salicylates in food, so the residents in Mentia will suffer fewer headache. However, the evidence of the all the residents who has the headache in Mentia would buy the food of those companies. For example, if the company which plan to add more salicylates in food has the notorious fame and the CEO of that company has bad reputation through the whole country. Then the consumers are not going to buy the product which is from the bad reputation company. In this condition, the salicylates in the food are not likely to be eaten, so the headache of the residents will not be decreased.

The author might provide us the sufficient evidences to make the claim more convincing.