In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article suggests that the Prunty County should launch the project of road improvement which is same as the Butler County to decrease the accidents. However, few pieces of evident are needed to make the claim more convincing.

The article states that the Prunty City lowered the speed limit from 55 to 45, but highway patrol reported lots of people exceeding the speed limit. The method of knowing drivers exceeding the speed limit should be provided. It is probably that the highway patrol only watch the monitor and measure the speed of every cars with their eyes instead of the precise equipment. The feeling of the speed is different from one to another. Then the number of the exceeding speed is not accurate at all. The author should provide the method of measuring the speed of all drivers to prove that the reports of the highway patrol is convincing.

The article also claims that the Prunty County should undertake the improvement of road same as the Butler County. There might have a chance that the driving habits are different between two counties. For example, the Prunty County has lots of factories, so the highway in Prunty County has lots of truck drivers. To make more money, the truck drive might sacrifice their sleeping time in order to transform the items from factory. On the other hand, Butler City is good for retire life, old people could not even drive a car or get out from home. Then increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways or improving dangerous intersections could not have any effect on decreasing the accidents, because the cause of the accidents is less of sleep.

The author purports that there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Bulter County this past year than there were five years ago. More data of the previous years are needed. If the number of accidents in Butler County has a lower number in this past year, other years data indicates there isn’t any decrease of the accidents cases. Then the author could not claim that the improvement of the road has well effect on control the accidents.

To conclude, the author should provided the evidence which had mentioned to strengthen the article.