Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although studying history can make people learn from the past and get to know more about their own country and culture, it can not provide any information that require in different field. Personally, I disagree with the statement. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in my following essay.

To begin with, forcing all students to take history courses might be a waste of time. To be more specific, other students who major in different field rather than history can not obtain useful knowledge for them. Take me as an example, I am a college student major in computer science. We learn about how to implement machines and software. However, the computer and programmning skills are not invented until twenty century. How can the computer science students gain useful knowledge from history? In this case, taking history courses is wasting time for them. There is a better way to exert these time such as doing their sideprojects or reasearch about the novel programming languages.

Futhermore, if the university required all students take the history courses, it may not be effective and productive. Some students are not interest in history, they might skip the courses or even talking with others in class. These behaviors might interrupt professors and other students who want to learn about history. In this case, the process of the courses might be slow and uneffectiveness and students can not receive knowledge which might be helpful because they can not be focus on class. Moreover, the money spent by the university to open more history courses and hire more professors is also not useful and productive.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the university should not require all sudents to take the history courses no matter what field they are major in.