A ten year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent Another study however

The report as presented in the newsletter stated the outcome of two different study on the use of helmet by bicyclists. The first study showed that there was an increase in the number of bicyclists who use helmets over a 10-year period. The second study reported that the number of accidents has doubled with increasing use of helmet by bicyclists. The argument then concludes that in order to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should educate people on bicycle safety than encourage them to wear helmet. This argument is not logically sound as it fails to address certain issues thus assuming some critical points that needs to be elucidated.

One of such assumption is that the number of bicyclist is the same over time. Perhaps, the number of bicyclists have reduced over the years, or those who refuse to wear helmet has had injuries and thus had stopped the use of a bicycle. Another thing is that, the overall number of bicyclists might have reduced along the line, leaving those who use helmet to the use of bicycles. All of this needs to be made clear in order to help us evaluate if the implementation of the idea by the government will bring about any change.

In addition, the argument assumes that most or all those who attend the educating sessions will implement or heed to what they are being taught. Some of these bicyclists might just attend and not implement what is being taught. Those who have refused to use a helmet will probably not apply the safety rules being taught and thus making the educating session of none effect in the long run.

Lastly, the argument assumes that the bicyclists can be safe without the use of helmet if properly educated. The function of any automobile, including a bicycle is not predictable. It is possible that a bicyclist ensures safety while riding and still get injured. Perhaps, when the brake stops working, a spoilt tyre or even been hit by some other vehicles.

To sum up, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence provided in support of the conclusion does little to prove the conclusion because it made a number of assumptions as earlier stated. In order to strengthen the argument, the author needs to report the number of bicyclists recorded each year, how obedient the bicyclists are to rules earlier given and how safe they can be without the use of helmet.