Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author infers that heroes or role models who are acclaimed by the society reveals the character of a society in that they implies a society's highest ideals. I concede that heroes and role models can discloses society's highest ideals, but I believe that ideals are different from typical character of a society. It seems like society's actual preference is not corresponding to its highest values and other information than role models and heroes are needed to understand the character of a society.

To begin with, I admit that heroes and role models can actually show what society regards as ideals. To illustrate, Pope who is regarded as hero reflects character of society's highest ideals: peace and Lincoln, a former president of United States also reveals the highest values of society: equality. However society's characters are usually different from ideals. Even though society considers honest, authentic, ethical, etc as their ideals and values, the member of the society can misbehave in reality. For example, consider United States where had produced many heroes regarding feminism. People in United States actually consider gender equality as one of the highest ideals and exalted many feminist as heroes such as Bell Hooks and Betty Friedan. However, based on 'The Global Gender Gap' research United States ranked on 59 out of 149 countries in reality which is not correspondingly high to its interest. Likewise understanding society's highest ideals do not generally lead to typical characters of a society.

What is more, it seems like heroes do not represent society's general preferences. People do not prefer somethings in reality merely because it is ideal and ultimate goal of society. For example let us consider state of Georgia where Martin Luther King had born. People in Georgia had regarded him as one of the greatest people and this treatment will last forever. However, it is surprising that republican party is currently dominating democratic party in Georgia based on fact that Martin Luther King was intimate with democratic politicians. People's preference are determined with complicated reasons not only including their highest values and standards but also aspects of reality.

Finally, I concede that examining the character of the men and women who society chooses as hero and role models can lead the understand of peculiarity of society's ultimate goals and highest ideals. However it does not imply that society's character can be measured only by examining the heroes. I believe that what we truly need to understand the community's trend is investigating the component of groups rather than investigating the heroes. For example, we cannot grasp the real trend of fashion by examining what fashionistas who are regarded as heroes wear because fashionistas frequently try innovations what general people do not catch. Rather, we could explain the general preference or character of community by thorough survey of its general members. Likewise role models and heroes are insufficient to fathom the character of rest.

In conclusion, I disagree with the claim based on above reasons. Rather than examining the character of exalted people, we should concentrate on character of general components and members to lead the understand of their society and community.