The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Whether the greatness of nation can be explained by the achievements of its rulers, artists, scientists or can be explained by general welfare is controversial topic. On the one hand, one might say the contributions by renowned people are not negligible factor and can represent the nation's greatness successfully. However I agree with the statement for several reasons.

To begin with, I concede that the great country is likely to have developed art, science and superior ruler. For example, the nation where produced the most Nobel Prize winner in science field is the United States followed by England and Germany and there countries are regarded as outstanding nations. Likewise many well-known artists who were active in Renaissance contributed a lot leading their countries to great nations. What is more, slavery and racism might be still rampant in the United States and suffer the country's reputation if Lincoln had not abolished slavery.

However, it does not implies that outstanding performances of nation's renowned people always correspond to the greatness of nations. As we all know, politicians, artists, scientists are rarely gifted people. However the current and future state of nation is shaped by overall achievements of generals, not a few geniuses. A country which can not provide basic needs is not regarded as superior. Even if a country is fortunate and contains many renowned people in diverse areas, it is not a great nation if general people in the country are starving and in state of poverty. To illustrate, consider the India. Even though, India has the third richest human resources in science and has many outstanding scientific patents, the overall welfare is in low of quality: its illiterate ratio is significantly higher than average, and many people are living in state of poverty except a few. Can we call India a 'great nation' merely because its achievement in science?

What is more, we should also consider the primary role of country: country exists for citizens. The country that only favors talented peoples without considering the general welfare can not be regarded as great as country exists not only for its scientists, ruler, artists. To illustrate consider North Korea. North Korea accommodates all the needs to scientists and artists as the country consider the science and art as the most important aspects. The country provides not only large amount of financial support but also many conveniences such as house, car and foods. However the overall welfare in the country is totally inferior. Based on research, over 60 percent of the people in the country are in absolute poverty. What is more the average salary in the country is 3 dollars per month which is too low to live properly. Nobody doubts that North Korea is not a great and this recognition will last unless they develops the overall welfare as it severs for general citizens.

In conclusion, even though I concede that the great nations are likely to have outstanding achievements by scientist, artist and rulers, I agree with the statement based on above mentioned reasons. As 'government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth' implies, the country should serves the general citizens and therefore. general welfare is the surest indicator of a great nation.