The following appeared in a memo from the manager of UpperCuts hair salon:“According to a nationwide demographic study, more and more people today are moving from suburbs to downtown areas. In order to boost sagging profits at UpperCuts, we should take advantage of this trend by relocating the salon from its current location in Apton’s suburban mall to downtown Apton, while retaining the salon’s decidedly upscale ambiance. Besides, Hair-Dooz, our chief competitor at the mall, has just relocated downtown and is thriving at its new location, and the most prosperous hair salon in nearby Brainard is located in that city’s downtown area. By emulating the locations of these two successful salons, UpperCuts is certain to attract more customers.” Discuss how well-reasoned you find this argument

In this argument, the manager of Cutters claims that the business will be more profitable once it moves to a downtown location. The author cites that the success of a competitor, Hair-Dooz, is attributable to its location and that another hair salon in a downtown location is also the most profitable in its neighboring city. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author’s conclusion that relocation to downtown will boost Cutters’ profits depends on the assumption that all other conditions are identical for Cutters and Hair-Dooz. Yet, the author does not provide any evidence to substantiate this assumption. In order to support this conclusion, the manager of Cutters should present that both the hair salons have the exact same number of employees, the same amount of investment capital, the same marketing strategies, etc., to name only a few deficits. Unless the author offers sufficient evidence, this assumption is logically flawed.

Similarly, the claim that the success of a hair salon located in a downtown area in neighboring Brainard will ensure Cutters’ prosperity depends on the assumption that those two cities share similar demographic data. Nevertheless, the author offers no evidence to verify this assumption. To satisfy the claim, the manager of Cutters should show that Cutters’ location in suburban Apton is the only factor that negatively affects its sales.

In addition, the author unfairly asserts that the current success of their competitor will affect the future success of Cutters’ business. The manager of Cutters overlooked other aspects that made the downtown location in Apton attractive to the public. It is possible that there are temporary events and attractions or newly constructed buildings, which have drawn public attention so far yet may not be able to guarantee future success. Without showing that the situation will last in the near future, the author cannot argue that relocation will bring about its success.

To sum, the author’s assumption that relocating to a downtown location will guarantee Cutters’ success is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors affecting hair salon business both in downtown Apton and in neighboring Brainard. In conclusion, the author’s argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.