"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes requiring all of Acme employees to take Easy Read course since the course has greatly improved productivity and cheap regarding its effectiveness. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that discourage Acme mandating all of its workers to take the course.

To begin with, the author assumes that the course is usefulness because one graduate is able to read a report fast, and the another graduate rises to vice president of the company. Yet there is no reason to believe that these cases represents all graduates. Only two samples are too few to corroborate the author's assumptions. They may be exceptional graduate, or they have already great potential of performing great performance regardless of attending the course. In fact, other graduate may have no effect of Easy Read Speed-Reading course. Therefore the author should provide more examples of excellent graduates to us to corroborate his or her assumption.

Secondly, the author assumes that the more information is accompanied by faster reading. However the author offers no data about how many information can be acquired by attendee of the course. Reading fast does not always lead to more information. The course may teach techniques such as skimming only main part and neglecting florid details which improve the quality of reading because the course is regarding only the speed of reading, and not considering the quality of reading. Therefore without accessing to curriculum or teaching method of the course, it is too hasty to claim that Easy Read Speed-Reading course will lead the graduates to more information just because the course makes the attendees read faster than before.

Even though we assume though that above assumptions will all hold up, the author's proposal requiring all of employees to take the Easy Read course to benefit Acme is still illogical. There are usually many types of works in company: evaluating profit of year, calculating cost to make product, developing technique of product, etc. While there are some types of working which fast reading can be benefit, fast reading can not be effective to all workers. For example, employee whose major task is calculating may not be greatly improved by fast reading. The author should provide more logical reasons to why the course can be useful to all workers regardless of their major jobs in the company.

Finally, the author presents cheap cost as evidence to benefit of the course. However calculating only lecture fee when considering the cost could be misleading. Since we do not have how many workers are employed by the company. If the company has 10 workers than corresponding total lecture fee will be $5000, else if the company employs 10,000 workers the total lecture fee will be 5 million dollars. What is more, we should consider the loss during absence of workers. Because the course includes three-week seminar in Spruce City the workers can not work during three-weeks. It may be great loss if the absence employees are tasking major works. Therefore it is illogical to assume that the course is cost-effective just because the lecture fee is cheap.

To sum, the author's assumption that demanding the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to all of its employees will benefit Acme is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.