Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author suggests that all of employees of Acme should take the Easy Read course. However, several questions need answering to evaluate the claim.

The memo states that one graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours. However, what is the content of this 500-page report? It is possible that the content of this report is easy to understand. For example, if most pages of this report are filled with simple graphs and tables, then this report will not be difficult to understand for other people who hold bachelor degrees. Even if the content of this report is difficult for most people, we must also know if this graduate fully understood this report. This graduate may just read this report and not totally understand the content of this report. If the graduate could really understand the content of this report, then the course may actually help employees to increase their productivity at work. Thus, the author should tell us the content of this report and the extent of understanding of the graduate.

The author states that another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president in under a year. Still, if this graduate has really finished some outstanding feats to get this promotion? It is possible that this graduate worked in a small-scale company, then this graduate could easily get promoted than other people who worked in different company. Also, it is likely that the performance of this graduate is excellent last year, so the company decide to promote her. Furthermore, it is likely that this graduate was a relative of this company’s founder, so this graduate could easily get promoted because of his identification. Therefore, the author must answer the question that which company did this graduate work before. Also, the arguer should answer what percentage of these graduates who get promoted is.

The author claims that all of employees of Acme should take the Easy Read course. However, if other employees can get the same performance from this course? It is possible that these two graduates hold degrees from well-known colleges such as MIT and Stanford. Because graduates from these famous universities have great learning ability originally, it would not be difficult to finish the Easy Read course. Yet, if other employees just graduated from other low-ranking schools, it would not be necessary that they have the same capability to learn the Easy Read course. Therefore, the author must answer the question that if these two students have superior ability to learn this course than other employees.

This course may somewhat increase the ability of reading. However, the author still need to answer the questions mentioned above to strengthen his claim.