Agree or disagree? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school

Classmates always play crucially important roles in our entire life. This raises the question of whether classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. My view is that classmates actually will bring us a more imperative influence than parents on a child’s success in school.

First of all, I would take the position that classmates’ thoughts are closer to our situation. Learning classmates’ ideas can make us closer to success in school. For example, when I was an elementary school student, I once encountered a tough problem with how to learn English more efficiently in class. I tried to use a couple of study methods to help me improve this tough situation, but I failed to solve this problem many times. Finally, I actively sought help from one of my classmates, and he gave me some greatly beneficial suggestions, like using some learning tools on the Internet or doing some practical oral practices with other people, and I immediately followed his approach to improve my English learning. A few months later, other classmates all praised that I had a highly significant progression in English ability, and I get an A+ grade this semester. By contrast, if we just ask parents for help, their opinions may not fit our situation perfectly.

Second, We can learn the spirit of teamwork from classmates. In order to succeed in school, learning teamwork is a must. For instance, when I was ten years old, the school held a soccer game, and we all lacked enough teamwork experience with other people. Thus, we had to diligently learn how to cooperate with classmates to win a sports game from scratch. Initially, we had a lot of severe conflicts because we didn’t understand each other, but we constantly improved these arduous issues and industriously boosted our soccer skills gradually through pieces of training. A couple of weeks later, we already realized how to perfectly collaborate with partners, and we could utilize some thoroughly familiar tactics to beat other extraordinary rivals. Finally, we won the first prize in this soccer game. In contrast, we may not be able to learn teamwork with parents by participating in a sports game.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I hold the belief that classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success in school. Classmates can give some excellent recommendations to us, and we can also learn a lot of valuable teamwork experiences with classmates. I am of the view that classmates’ influence can make us have a more positive and brighter future.