Agree or disagree? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success in school.

This topic leads me to think of my classmates who has affected my thoughts a lot, when I was still an undergraduate. This raises the question of whether classmates are a more imperative influence than parents on a child's success in school. My view is that classmates actually have an essential influence than parents on my success in school.

First of all, classmates’ ideas are closer to our thoughts than parents’. For example, I study in mechanical engineering, and I often concern about whether I can have a bright future in my career and have many questions about my major. In the meantime, I usually express my thought to my classmate and ask help from them. Fortunately, Because we are the same age, there is no much difference between our ideas, and they can always offer me some perfect solutions to my questions and lead me to the right way. In contrast, parents may not solve my issues because we are not the same generation. Thus, my parents can’t really understand my feelings, and I can’t also transfer my concerns to them .

Second, classmates are more intelligent than parents. For instance, I study in National Cheng Kung University, and most of my classmates have exceptional ability to resolve the problems which occur in our classes or experiments. As a result, when I face some difficulty, I can normally hold my questions to consult them directly, and they can also deal with my issues immediately. However, because there are a lot of challenging subjects in my major, I may not usually anticipate that my parent can solve my problems, like calculus or physics.

To conclude, these are the two reasons why I hold the belief that classmates are a more imperative influence than parents on a child's success in school. In addition, I would say that classmates not only make us more successful in school, but also influence our morality in our life.