A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I partially agree with the statement. I take the position that most students in Taiwan need to learn the same national curriculum, such as math or English, to cultivate lots of professionals in each field. Yet, the other students should establish other expertise which they are competent at, such music or chess.

First of all, most students should study the same national curriculum because they need to earn money to maintain their live, such as paying bills or buying daily supplies. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I majored in computer science, and I had to learn a good deal of professional knowledge, such data structure and algorithm. For one thing, I can put the projects finished in these courses on LinkedIn to obtain many interview opportunities in lots of world-class companies, such as Google and Amazon, and these companies can provide me with a higher salary, such as 10000 dollars per month, to make me lead a better life. For another thing, I can also utilize this professional knowledge to establish my own company, and it can not only bring more profits for me but also provide additional chances for other people to make their own money. Instead, if the college had not provided me with these professional courses, I might have not been able to earn these profits for myself to maintain my life.

Indeed, some opponents argue that a few talent students are skilled at other fields, such as music and sports. If these students choose to study the same national curriculum, they may not be capable of fulfilling their dreams. For example, Kobe Bryant was a top-notch basketball player in the entire world. If he had not decided to play basketball and chosen to study at a college, he might have not be able to become the most famous basketball player. However, not everyone can also become the first-rate basketball player like Kobe Bryant because there are only a few people having astonishing talents like him. If we require the colleges to offer certain professional education for each student, these colleges may not have enough funds to meet this goal. Instead, the colleges may lose lots of money in order to achieve this plan and not be able to cultivate professionals needed by enterprises because of the shortage of money.

Only a few students are extremely interested in certain fields, and other students are still suitable to learn the same national curriculum to learn these professional knowledge which can make them lead a better life. As a result, the schools should provide most students with the basic courses to learn, and the schools can also provide a few students with other professional course which they are interested in. For one thing, the schools will not need to spend an astronomical amount of money to offer a variety of courses. For another thing, the schools can also satisfy the needs of each student.

Ideally, each student has the right to pursue the goals which they are interested in. However, in reality, most students still need to consider the best way to maintain their lives.