Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed Reading Course has greatly improved productivity One graduate of the course was able to read a 500 page report in only two hours another graduate rose from an a

The author concludes that many companies have recently stated that having their employees take the easy read speed reading course has greatly improved their productivity. This conclusion is backed up with the evidence that the faster an employee can read, the more information the employee can absorb in a single workday. However, to be able to ascertain this conclusion by the author some questions must be raised and resolved to accept the conclusion.

Firstly, is it not possible that the promotion of the assistant manager to vice president happened coincidentally after the assistant manager took the reading course? For example, the assistant manager may have been due for promotion in December 2018 regardless of whether he took the reading course or not and that month just happened to equally correspond to a few months after he took the easy read reading course. Hence, the promotion would not have been hindered even if he did not take the reading course. This implies that except we can be sure that the completion of the reading course was the sole criteria for promotion, the author's argument is somewhat vague and weak.

Secondly, is it not also possible that the assistant manager lobbied his way to the vice president position either through blackmail or the president being indebted to him? For instance, the president of the company may be indebted to the assistant manager for a particular favour he has done for him in the past. If this is true, the assistant manager may have approached the president on this basis for promotion and due to the benevolence of the president he granted it outrightly. If this is true, then this weakens the conclusion that the author has presented that the reading course had anything to do with the promotion of the assistant manager to vice president.

Thirdly, is it not that the individual that read a 500- page report in two hours was as good as that before the reading course? There is no evidence to show that this individual was not as good as this in reading before he took the course. Moreover, he could have been taking multiple reading courses at the time he also took the Easy Speed Reading Course, hence the author assumed that the Easy Speed reading Course solely contributed to his reading prowess and increased efficiency. Therefore, this point also weakens the author's evidence and consequently his argument except it is clarified and resolved.

In conclusion, it is evident that the author's argument is flawed by the questions raised above. Thus, the author still has to properly address these questions discussed above before his argument and conclusion can be made valid and accepted without doubt. Perhaps, the author should carry out systematic research that takes all possible weakening made above assumptions into consideration.