The universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Whether university should require students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields or not is controversial topic. On the one hand, people argues that students in college should focus in their major fields and demanding them to take diverse courses can hinder their concentration on core study. However I agree with the statement in that studying other fields can help students intensifying their understand of major and diverse courses can provide students an opportunity to find their real talent.

To begin with, I concede to the claim that one of the primary role of students is to study their core fields. I also concede that students may regard taking diverse courses as burdensome. Students who is currently majoring cook, for example, may regard registering biology, chemical, math classes as helpless and useless. However, as society is being more complex than before, innovations sometimes come through combining distinct fields. For example, well-known cooks nowadays apply their chemical knowledge to their dishes, so called "molecular gastronomy", to decorate their foods more attractive and make their taste better. These trials make huge success and many customers enjoy its fresh savor and attractive appearance. Likewise, many famous artists accomplished master pieces by using bugs and animals. Without superior biological knowledge, it may be impossible for those artists to complete their master pieces. Without those, there are many creative fields which require knowledge of diverse fields and taking variety of courses might inspire students.

What is more, there is no field which is independent to any others. As I mentioned before, society nowadays is being more complicated than ever before. There is no field which can stand solely and therefore, it is unlikely for students to understand their major fully without any knowledge of other related area. For example, consider algorithm: a solution for specific problem in Computer Science. Evaluating the algorithm's expected performance and comparing performance between algorithms requires us being proficient at math and probability. Likewise, statistics and mechanical insights are demanded to make a machine which has artificial intelligence. It is unlikely that students who enter colleges recognize the reality of complicated society and take related courses. They may take courses only within their majors for their sake and convenience. Therefore universities should demand students to register diverse courses and help students accumulating knowledge in related areas.

Finally, we should also consider that students entering college do not have sufficient experience to find their real talents and one major role of university is to provide them large experience to find their talents. According to the NCES(National Center for Education Statistics) 80% of students in college change their majors. What is more, college students change their major three times on average. Taking diverse courses can provide students valuable experiences and provide them to find their real interests and change their majors.

In conclusion, I concede that taking diverse courses can be burdensome to students. However I also believe that there is no useless knowledge and course. It will be benefit rather than bane for students to take variety of courses including outside their core study based on above mentioned reasons.