In a survey, Boulder Valley residents ranked hiking and climbing among their favorite recreational activities. Boulder Mountain, just outside the city, is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining the mountain's hiking trails. For years there have been complaints from residents about litter, debris, and hazards along the trails. In response, the state has recently announced plans to renovate Boulder Mountain trails. Use of the mountain for hiking and climbing is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to Boulder Mountain hiking trails.

The author proposes increasing the city budget for Boulder Mountain rock climbing facilities. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the city from devoting funds to this project.

To begin with, consider the surveys assessing Boulder Valley residents’ activity preferences. The author assumes that the stated preference for rock climbing will lead to usage. Yet, there is no reason to believe that responses on a survey will correspond to actual behavior. Many surveys conducted at the start of a new year find that people are devoted to losing weight or learning a language. Yet, we rarely see a corresponding uptick in gym memberships or language courses. What's more, the phrasing of the survey results is vague, and could be misleading. It merely says that residents list hiking and climbing "among" their favorite recreational activities. Rock climbing could have been listed 233rd in a ranking of 250 "favorite" activities. Thus, we must ask, do residents really prefer new climbing facilities over a well-maintained golf course or a renovated library? Without access to the content of the surveys, we cannot determine whether people’s stated preferences merit the proposed funding plan.

Let us assume, though, that the surveys indicate real interest. We are then prompted to ask whether renovated trails will really lead to increased usage. The survey cited offers no information about the reasons that people do not use the trails and rock-climbing facilities. Are trail debris and hazards really the main factors blocking usage? Or is it a lack of parking facilities? Perhaps it’s simply a lack of free time. Without more thorough survey responses, we cannot answer these questions, and therefore cannot project increased us age.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumptions will all hold up, we cannot take for grated the state's promise to renovate the trails. Who was making these announcements, and what might be their motives? As we all know, politicians tend to promise their constituents the moon during an election year. There may be no real plan in place to follow up on this promise. The state officials also need to specify a timeline for renovation before the city can precisely plan its funding for climbing facilities. It's easy to see how an empty promise from the state government can lead to upgraded but unused climbing facilities.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author’s proposal reveals that the city does not have enough justification to fund the climbing facilities. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, city officials should not act until they have more information.