Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Whether encouraging competition for higher grades is ideal learning method is controversial. On the one hand, some people argues that competition is essential in these competitive society and actually provide motivations students to study harder and increase the quality of learning. However I agree with the statement in that competition can not only deprive opportunity for developing creative and critical thinking but also be too burdensome for students to enjoy the learning.

First of all, I admit that competitive environment can induce greater performance in limited conditions: when studying relatively low level of studies such as middle school or high school level math. In South Korea, society encourages students focusing only one goal: higher score than others. Therefore students in South Korea know how to achieve better performance in test and actually show superior records in international math contest. What is more, Obama, a former president in the United States, regarded South Korea's math education as role model what United States should follow. However, in reality, we should recognize the fact that there is no Korean Nobel Prize winner. As students in Korea are likely to memorize the solutions and algebras which can be helpful when studying math at middle school or high school, rather than understanding principles, these students show inferior results as they attends to higher institution such as graduate school or colleges. Likewise, inducing competition can limit student's ability to study at higher level.

What is more, competition can limit student's critical thinking. If people study only for higher scores, they are likely to uncritically accept purported facts without questioning because they may regard questioning as useless to achieve higher grades. For example, let us consider students who study physics. As we all know, curiosity and questioning is one of the most important aspect when studying physics. Newton discovers gravity by questioning why apples fall down. Ada E. Yonath, Nobel Prize winner, states that curiosity is momentum of great scientific finding. However if students focuses only on higher grade, they might cram and memorizes results or facts without thinking what causes these results. Therefore severe competition can deprive students an opportunity to think creative and discover a 'great' finding.

Finally, people who are among competition might miss pleasure which is a very essence of study. Not a competition or high scores but a pleasure of learning can lead to 'true' learning. Arts and music, for example, require sufficient leisure times to enjoy the beauty of them fully. However, when environment of such severe competition is besieging learners, they might rather choose to memory crafty technique or great melody without recognizing its own beauty and charm. As great artists had their own creative technique and melody, own musical intuition and innovation are required to be successful artists. However it is unlikely that people who studies only for higher grade can achieve such innovations and acquire own musical sight.

In conclusion, even though I concede that competition can foster greater performance at relatively low level of study, I agree with the statement based on above mentioned reasons. Competitions do not induce unqualified quality of learning, rather it limits the full potential of learners.