The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that there is no need for new generating plants since the total demand for electricity in the area will not increase. He or she offers an interesting argument but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other scenarios that should encourage the company building new generating plants.

To begin with, consider the surveys which indicates that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. The author assumes that home owner's interest in conserving energy will decrease the electricity usage in the area. Yet there is no reason to believe that responses on a survey will correspond to actual behavior. Many surveys conducted at the start of a new year find that people are devoted to losing weight, or learning a language. However we rarely see a corresponding uptick in gym memberships or language courses. Are they really willing to use less energy at the expense of lots of convenience: warm winter, cool summer, fresh air, etc.? Without answering the question we cannot determine that there is no need to construct new generating facilities because of less energy demand prediction.

What's more, the author does not provide information of survey participants. Who does answer the survey? Where do the participants located? The willingness of energy savings differs among areas. The residents of area where the company located might prefer their conveniences rather than energy savings. Let us assume though that home owners in the area really eager to save energy. Then we are prompted to ask whether they can choose home policy independently. As we all know, home users usually do not live alone. They live with their family members, friends, roommates, etc. The home users need housemates's agreement before choosing the home policy and the housemates could disagree to the home owner's willingness to save energy at the expense of comforts. Therefore it is not logical to assume that home user's real interest will lead to actual energy preservation.

Next, the author presents existence of energy efficient home appliances that are being marketed by manufacturers as the evidence to his or her claim. However it is hasty to claim that energy efficient home appliances will lead to decrease in energy usage. The author offers no information about how many these appliances sold currently. The area's citizens may not afford to buy these goods. The area's citizens may prefer large book cases, comfortable chairs, soft sofas rather than energy efficient refrigerators or air conditioners. Therefore the author should show that the area dwellers really prefer to buy the energy efficient goods and they afford to buy them.

Finally, the author claims that since the existing energy generating plants had met the needs, they will meet the needs in future. However, as we all know, the machines are consumables. Operating machine makes the machine aging. We cannot take for granted that existing electric generating plants will performs as currently in future without evidence.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the company does not have enough justification not to construct new generating machineries. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the company should not act until they have more information.