"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

The author proposes mandating teenagers to take a program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to the serious problem. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the author from claiming that the only solution is mandatory program sponsored by the high school.

To begin with, the author assumes the need of mandatory program because several accidents have involved teenage drivers. However he or she offers no information about actual ratio. The proportion of accidents involving teenagers might be negligible. Only one percent or two of accidents actually might related to teenagers. Even if we assume, that high proportion of accidents actually are involving teenagers, we still can not conclude that the teenage drivers are immediate cause of accidents. Teenage drivers actually might be victim of these accidents. There are many other factors which could cause the accidents. For example, complex traffic, careless pedestrians or too many cars in road could be an immediate cause not an inability of teenagers. The author should offer actual proportion of accidents which are related to teenagers and other conditions such as traffic complexity to strengthen his/her claim.

Let us assume, though that teenage drivers are responsible to high ratio of accidents. Yet there is no reason to believe that mandatory program will be panacea and will make decrease in accidents. Education does not lead people's behavior. For example, jail offers many education to its criminal offender. However these educations do not have big effect in reducing criminal: high proportion of offenders commit the criminal again after they leave the prison. Likewise even if mandatory program could offer an great opportunity to students, we cannot be sure that these students will be more careful driver than before. Maybe what it needs for less accidents is the student's conscience, rather than demanding program.

Finally, the author assumes that teenage drivers who are related to accidents occurred in Centerville live in the city. Yet there is no reason to believe so. As we all know, the place where accidents happened does not imply that people who are involved lived there. People might live in neighbor or their home might located far away. Without the information about the people's location, we can not be sure that mandatory program sponsored by the local high school can be effective solution. What is more, the author unfairly assumes that the parents who he/she depicts as too busy to teach their children and on a tight budget to pay for driving instruction are representative of the parents in Centerville. Many parents in Centerville might could spare their time on teaching their children or they might could pay for driving instruction other than high school program. Without thorough survey about parent's business and affordability, it is illogical to believe that the only option to solve the problem is program by near high school.

To sum, the author's assumption is not logical based on above mentioned reasons. He or she should closely examined all other options and conditions before claiming.