Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds

The author infers that laws and the legal system can not solve many problems in modern society in that they cannot change people's minds. I concede that Laws had solved many major problems such as abolition of slavery, however I agree with the statement in that laws have many gaps and cannot control all people's behavior. What is more, punishments of laws can be perceived differently among people and allows some people who do not regard punishment as crucial to commit the criminal.

To begin with, I admit that laws had changed people's moral standards and actually solved some major problems. For example, let us consider United States before law forced to emancipate all slaves. Before the law had established, white people took it for granted to treat black people as inferior and black people also thought it was natural to be slave. Even though white people did not change their think immediately, the law forced to set all slaves free and finally white people nowadays do not doubt that racism is unmoral. If laws were not published by Lincoln, the society may still ripe with slavery and racism. Likewise, laws sometimes force people's behavior and correspondingly solves some problems.

However, even though it is true that law can actually solve major problems, it does not imply that laws solely can solve many problems of modern society. Laws itself have limits and can not catch minor details such as water usage or fuel usage of each people. Without changes in people's mind, it is likely that people can commit undesirable actions which law misses to catch, for their own sake. For example, nowadays lack of water is the one of the most serious problems which should be managed. In countries in Africa many people dies because of water shortage. However, even though laws itself can limit maximum usage of waters for every countries or continents, laws can not solely force every people in water-rich countries not to use water prodigally because it is too minor for laws to detect. In this case, to solve the prodigal water usage, not a laws but people's recognition of water shortage is needed. Unless, people recognize gravity of the problem and voluntarily spare water, it is hard to manage the problem merely by law and legal system.

What is more, there are some problems which laws can not solve even though laws forbid the particular behavior. As punishment's magnitude is perceived differently among people because of several reasons such as different wealth, different environment, etc, some people might think punishment is not too strong to limit their behaviors. A man with great wealth, for example, may commit the criminal if fine punishment of the criminal is too small to burden the man. Likewise, a person who regard penitentiary as comfortable to live anyway, will not practice illegal behaviors merely because it is likely that the court's verdict will be imprisonment. To block these illegal actions, change in their minds above all else, should be induced.

In conclusion, even though I concede that laws can fix some problems many problems of modern society requires change in people's think and values rather than the stringent legal systems based on above mentioned reasons.