The universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The author infers that universities should require every students to take a variety of courses outside the student's major. Students in colleges should accumulate deep understanding in their core, and requiring variety of courses could impede their concentration to core study. However students in colleges might find their real interest and talents while studying other courses. What is more there are many unexpected synergy effects between ostensibly distinct fields and there are no fields that are independent to any others. Therefore I agree with author's claim.

Some people argues that mandating students to take lectures of other fields could be burdensome to students studying their majors. For example, student who is currently majoring cook, could regard taking chemical, biology lectures as useless. I admit that colleges should provide environment that make students focus on their core field but I believe that studying other fields might help their innovation in their major. Nowadays society is more complex than ever before, and there too many unexpected synergy effect between fields. For example let us consider molecule gastronomy which successfully woos customers these days. Nowadays cook applies their chemical knowledge to their dishes which increase fanciness and taste of their food. Likewise, artists in these days use bugs and animals in their art piece which requires biological knowledge. Without those examples, there are many innovations that was brought by successful combination of diverse fields. Student might create innovation on their fields while taking other lectures.

What is more, every field is dependent to at least one other fields and studying variety of courses might provide deeper understanding. For example let us consider algorithm, a method to solve particular problem, in Computer Science. To evaluate specific algorithm's performance and compare efficiency between algorithms, it requires lots of math knowledge. In other words, students in computer science could not make profound understanding of algorithm without studying math. Making effective machine that includes artificial intelligence also demands probability, statistics, machine, etc knowledge. Likewise these days we cannot accomplish great job only by studying core field and it is essential to take diverse courses.

Finally, we should consider that most of students entering college do not experience sufficiently to find their real talents and one major role of university is to provide them large experience to find their interest. According to the National Center for Education Statistics, 80 percent of students in the United States change their major at least once. What is more, college students change their major three times on average. Registering diverse lectures could help students to find real dream. As we all know, it is more difficult to change major after graduate and without taking diverse lecture, they could not acknowledge their real talent forever.

To sum up, even though I admit that mandating diverse lecture course can be demanding, I believe that it will be benefit for students in that courses in other fields are useful to their greater accomplishment and students could experience more by taking diverse courses. Therefore I agree with the author.