The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes Adams Realty is clearly superior than Fitch Realty for some reasons. He or She offer an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage us from agreeing to the author's claim.

To begin with, the author assumes that more agents will lead to the firm's supreme and high proportion of part-time agents will lead to the firm's inferiority. Yet there is no reason to believe that numbers of workers and types of jobs will correspond to the company's ability. There are differences in the efficiency and work time among workers. One worker in Fitch, for example, may work more than five workers in Adams and the he or she may be more efficient than them in Adams. Furthermore ability of worker does not correspond to its type of employment. Today there are well-skilled labors who are actually part-time. For instance, the Apple's legendary leader Steve Jobs did excellent job during his part-time job in video games company. Thus we must ask, whether 40 workers in Adams really work more and efficiently than Fitch's 25 workers and whether part-times in Fitch are callow. Without access to the information the worker's ability and working times, we cannot determine whether Adams is better corporate than Fitch.

Let us assume, though, that Adams' 40 real estate agents indeed are more efficient than Fitch's agents. We are then prompted to ask whether Adams' higher average price of home sales implies Adams superiority. The real estate firm's performance should not be calculated by only one factor: the price of home sales. Instead, we should consider more variables such as the houses' location, interior, spaciousness, etc. Even though Adams sold home for higher price, Fitch's achievement could be better if Fitch sold house which was so unpopular to sell at good price. Without more detailed information about houses the company sold, we cannot answer which corporation is indeed better than other.

Finally, we cannot take if for granted that homes listed with Adams sell faster. The author assumes that homes sell faster, when they are listed in Adams, since it took more than 4 months to sell when listed with Fitch ten years ago whereas it took only one month when listed in Adams last year. However the time it takes to sell house is contingent on other variables: economic condition, house's popularity, etc. You will have to wait longer to sell house if economic condition is bad or house is disfavored by customers. Economic condition can change a lot during past ten years. Last year's economic condition could be a lot better than ten years before. Therefore it is not logical to say homes listed with Adams sell faster than other.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that it does not have enough justification to claim that Adams is better. The author should be more careful to claim which corporation is better than other before he or she gets more specific data and reports.