The universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Whether the colleges should require students to take variety of courses outsider their core fields is controversial topic. On the one hand, one might say that students in universities should focus on their major field and might claim that demanding diverse courses can hinder student's concentration. However I agree with the statement in that studying other fields can help students intensifying their understand of major. What is more, by taking diverse lectures, students might find what their real talent is.

To begin with, I concede that taking diverse lectures can be onerous to students. A student who is currently majoring cook, for example, might regard taking chemical, biology, math, etc classes as useless and might be reluctant to pay tuition for registering these courses. However, we should recognize that there is no useless knowledge and great innovations come through combining distinct areas. Nowadays, well-known cook, for example, applies their chemical knowledge to their dishes, so called 'Molecular gastronomy', to make their dishes more attractive and make their foods taste better. These dishes achieved huge success as many customers enjoy their attractive appearances and fresh savor. Many artists, for another example, accomplished their masterpieces by using peculiarity of bugs and animals such as glowing at dark environment or changing their body colors which would be impossible if they did not have biological insight. If artists and cooks do not have knowledge of other fields, these dishes and masterpieces may not be extant currently. Likewise, by taking diverse courses, students might create 'great' innovation.

What is more, as society is being more complicated than ever before, there is no field which can stand up solely. Every field is related to at least one other fields. For example, let us consider algorithm: a solution for particular problem in computer science. Evaluating algorithm's expected performance and comparing effectiveness between algorithms require us being proficient at math and probability. Therefore without knowledge of math and probability, one is unlikely to accumulate deep understand of algorithm. Likewise, it is impossible to make a superior machine which has artificial intelligence without know-how in statistics, mechanic, linear algebra, etc. What it means, studying statistics, mechanic and linear algebra intensifies one's understand in artificial intelligence. However students entering the college are unlikely to know the dependency of their majors to other related areas and might register courses only within their major. Therefore universities should require students to take variety of courses and help them fostering their core skills.

Finally, most of the students entering college do not have sufficient experience to choose their major firmly. They are likely to choose their majors without considering what their real talents and interests are. They might choose their majors merely because of its well-prospected future, having too low grade to go other major, parent's recommendation, etc. According to the National Center for Education Statistics, 80 percent of students in college change their major. What is more, the students change their major three times on average. By taking lectures of diverse fields, students might have a valuable experience and find their real interests. As I believe that one of the primary role of university is to offer students a diverse experience, I also believe that universities should mandate students to take diverse courses.

In conclusion, even though I concede that demanding students to take diverse courses can be burdensome, I agree with the statement based on above mentioned reason. Taking diverse courses is a boon to students, rather than bane in that it provides an opportunity students to strengthen their major skills and find their real interests.