There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and longer life than does the busy life in big cities. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage us from claiming that composed life in small towns benefits health and longevity.

To begin with, the author presents fewer reports of medical leave taken by individual workers in Leeville than Masonton as the evidence to his or her claim. Yet there is no reason to believe that Masonton really represents the big cities. More medical leaves in Masonton may be the Masonton's peculiarity rather the big cities's characteristic. Maybe Masonton's distinct features such as daily temperature range, harsh rain, etc encourage the workers to take sick leave. Thus we must ask, Does Masonton really represents the big cities? Without answering the questions, we cannot determine whether small town's residents are more healthier than big cities's residents or not.

Let us assume, though, Masonton really represents the big cities. We are then prompted to ask whether fewer medical leaves really imply healthier life. There are several reasons other than unhealthier life that cause medical leave. What if the businesses in Masonton are more lenient to sick leave? Maybe the businesses in Leeville require onerous tasks to take sick leave and the demanding requirements may discourage employers to take sick leave. Without more detailed information about the businesses's policy about sick leave, we cannot assume that small town promotes healthier life.

Secondly, the authors present the high ratio of physicians to residents in Masonton as the evidence. However the mere fact of high proposition of physicians can not reveal the fact that big cities promotes unhealthier life. The reason of low ratio of physicians in Leeville may due to other reasons such as lack of countryside's residents inability to pay medical cure or physician's personal desire to live in big cities. We need more thorough researches of high doctor ratio in big cities to conclude big cities promotes ill health. Without these researches we can not affirm the claim.

Finally, we cannot take for granted that metropolis provides unhealthier life because of the mere fact that average age of Masonton is lower comparing to Leeville. There may be other reasons for more higher average age of Leeville other than health: Elder retiree's preference to live in small town, high proportion of children because of their parents's desire to raise them in big city, etc. Therefore by only comparing the average age between big city and small town, we cannot affirm whether the rural benefits greater longevity and urban damages lifespan.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's claim reveals that the he or she does not have enough justification to claim the advantage of the rural cities to healthier life and longer life. Before we access to more detailed information and data it is hasty to assume that it is recommended to live in suburban area to have healthful life and longer life expectancy.