The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The author infers that greatness of nations are evaluated by the general welfare of its citizens not by the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. Some people claim that country's greatness can be calculated by high performance of its rulers, artists or scientists and present countries which are regarded as great country due to its many Nobel-Prize winner. However I agree to the authors for several reasons.

First, I admit that people usually regard nation as great nation if their artists and scientists perform well. For example, the nation where produced the most scientists who won Nobel-Prize is United States and it is followed by England and Germany. As we all know, these three countries are all regarded as great nations. What is more, many countries in Europe had contained tremendous artists and they are also regarded as great country.

However, greatness of scientists, rulers and artists is not always corresponded to country's greatness. For example, let us consider Africa. Historically, Africa's artists had performed superiorly. There are many well-known artists who lived in Africa: Tracey Rose, Meschac Gaba, etc. However they are not treated as great nation. What is more, India, where ranked 3rd in abundance of scientific human resource and had so many patents in science, is not regarded as great country just because it has well-developed science. Likewise countries can not be evaluated as great country if their people had low general welfare even though they performed well in science and art.

Finally, countries are existing for their people. Therefore it is surely that general welfare of nation's people is indicator of a great nation. United States is regarded as the best nation in the world not because their rulers, artists or scientists performed well. Having a lot of money is also not the reason. For example, Saudi Arabia where contains a lot of oil and haves tremendous amount of money does not treated as great because its people have low-level of welfare. South-Korea, where lacks natural resources and produces none of Nobel-Prize winner in science fields, has high level of general welfare and people treat it as great country.

Examples of countries where are considered as great nation and not have been presented to state that the greatness can not be explained by high performances of rulers, artists, or scientists but by the general welfare of its people. As I mentioned above, countries are existing for their citizens and therefore it is natural that level of welfare is the surest indicator of greatness. In conclusion, I agree with the author's view.