Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The author infers that nowadays it is impossible for one to be regarded as hero in that media scrutiny will finally destroys one's reputation. Indeed along with development in thoroughness of media, people are likely to encounter so-called heroes' misbehaviors or mistakes by media. However, I disagree with the claim because there are some possible cases of maintaining one's fame regardless of media's scrutiny. What is more, media can also disseminate positive reports which can exalt one's reputation rather than diminishing.

Boost in velocity and easier assess to media makes easier to diminish one's reputation. To illustrate, Barry Bonds, who was a legendary baseball player was regarded as hero because of his exceptional performance. However as the fact that he took illegal medicine, probably strengthen his power and performance, was divulged by media, his fame as superior baseball could not last long and he fell short of 'Hall of Fame'. Likewise Ricky Malhotra, a professor in medicine department was also respected as profound researcher because of his superior paper. However, the fact that the paper's results were artificially manipulated was disclosed by the media and his fame as great scientist also fell correspondingly. Without those. there are many too many examples whose reputation harshly plummeted after media had revealed their misbehaviors and mistakes.

However, Mistakes and misbehaviors which everyone can make do not always entail destroy in one's reputation. Rather, people seem to distinguish between heroes' mistake from ones that are related to their quality and ones that are not. To illustrate, consider Tiger Woods, a celebrated golf player. The media has divulged his adultery and undesirable relationships with female and as a result people do not treat his life as ideal. However, unlike Barry Bonds or Ricky Malhotra whose misbehaviors were directly related to their performance, his superior golf performance was not related to his misbehaviors and his reputation as golf player is still remaining. What is more, he is allowed to enter 'Hall of Fame' in 2021. Likewise, it is still possible for someone to be treated as hero even if he/she had misbehaved if their misbehaviors were not related to their essence.

Finally, we should also consider that media can cause positive affect regarding one's fame. Not only negative reports but positive reports also be are disseminated by medias. For example, consider Steve Jobs who was a leader of Apple. Thorough investigation about his character which was conducted by media provided people an opportunity to understand his attractive and charming business philosophy such as encourage innovation than obsolete success or being not afraid of fail, etc. As a result, his reputation as well-performed business became more stable than before. Likewise, Bill Gates, who was a leader of Microsoft was also helped by media exalting his fame. Not only are his tremendous wealth and success available in the newspaper, but his great amount of donation and his charitable institution are also easily assessed by media.

In conclusion, even though I concede that media scrutiny can easily divulge and disseminate misbehaviors conducted by so-called 'heroes' and correspondingly destroy their reputations, I disagree with the claim based on above mentioned reasons. There are still many super heroes who keep their fame and honor regardless of media's thoroughness.