According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author proposes that all colleges should adopt honor codes in order to decrease cheating among students because Groventon reported reduced cheating after they adopted the honor code. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage all universities from choosing honor code to replace an old system.

To begin with, the author claims that honor code actually decrease the cheating by presenting the fact that fewer cheating was reported after adopting honor code. Yet comparing only absolute numbers of cheating could be misleading. We should consider other factors such as total numbers of students or number of students related to each cheating before calculating the effect of honor code. For example, if Groventon College has much less students currently comparing to before, cheating per students actually might increased during last five years. What is more, author offers no information about how many students were related to each cheating. Let us assume that average numbers of the students related to each cheating is ten currently, whereas average was 3 before the adoption of honor code. Then we could say that more students committed cheating after selecting honor code. Therefore without accessing to information about total students in Groventon or number of students related to each cheating, we cannot conclude that honor code is effective cheating inhibitor.

Secondly, the author assumes that honor code decrease the cheating because fewer incidence of cheating was reported. Yet, we cannot determine whether cheating actually reduced during the period. We cannot be sure only fourteen cheating has occurred currently. Students may be reluctant to report his colleague's malfeasance even though they noticed cheating. Cheating may actually occurred much more frequently than faculty noticed. Therefore it is hasty to believe that only fourteen cheating has occurred and therefore the honor code performs great at reducing cheating.

Let us assume though that the cheating per students and cheating itself actually decrease after establishing honor code. Then we are prompted to ask whether decrease in cheating was really due to honor code. There are many factors that can affect the incidence of cheating. For example, Groventon might adopt stronger punish system during the same period and might cause decrease in cheating. Or high school or college might provide focused education about cheating to prospective university students and cause reduced numbers of cheating. Student's better awareness of cheating's gravity might inhibit cheating. Likewise there are too many possible factors other than honor code that can discourage cheating.

Finally the author presents the recent survey as evidence to his or her claim. The author assumes that student's unwillingness to cheating will lead to decrease in cheating. Yet there is no reason to believe that student's actual behavior will correspond to the survey. Many surveys conducted at the start of a new year find that people are devoted to losing weight by not eating fast food and high calorie food. Yet we usually see they failed to forbearing these foods. Likewise, there could be increase in cheating even though the students said that they would be less likely to cheat under honor code.

To sum, the author's assumption that adopting honor code is effective at reducing cheating in all universities and colleges is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.