The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

The author infers than primary goal of technological advancement should aim increase in people's inefficiency and enable them to have more leisure time. I admit that many technological advancements have made people more efficiently and allow correspondingly more leisure time. However it does not imply that the technological advancement should aimed its goal to allow more relaxing time to people.

To begin with, lots of technological developments actually had increased people's efficiency. People nowadays do not spare many times washing their clothes. They just operate washing machine and wait until it finished. Students in school do not need to waste their time calculating complex formula manipulation. What they need is just pressing some buttons quickly with calculator. Without those, there are too many machines such as e-mail, cellphone, computer, etc which make people more efficient and allows them more spare time comparing to history.

However, the fact that there are many machine which helps people to spare more time to their hobby does not imply that the ultimate goal of technological advancement should be creating more leisure time that people in past could not experience. There are more fundamental goals other than more recreation time in industrial development such as saving people's life, greater performance, investigation, etc. To illustrate, let us consider development of medicine or surgery. Developments of machines which are used by surgeons should not be aimed for their more leisure time. These developments should direct for safety surgery and broadening diseases which can be cured so that diseases which were likely to lead one's death in past can be successfully cured. Likewise, developments in swimming suit or space craft should be aimed for greater swimming performance and investigation of un-known 'universe world' rather than providing more time for hobby merely.

What is more, developing technological advancements only focusing on allowing more leisure time can be harmful. For example, consider the fuel and combustion engine. The development of cars and airplanes which reduces our time enormously when moving relies on their combustion engines which uses oil and fuels. These oil and fuels cause pollution of air and global warming which is baneful. However if we neglect the need for developing replacement such as new renewable energy merely because it does not increase people's efficiency, the global warming would be worse and would induce lots of negative effects such as ozone hole, sea level rise, etc. Likewise regarding ultimate goal of technological advancement is only for allowing more people's ease, it can miss many other important aspects which should be considered when advancing industry.

In conclusion, even though I concede that one of goal of technological development is to increase people's efficient work, I firmly believe that the primary goal of advancement should not be only for making people to enjoy more leisure time. There are many other goals which should be considered and regarding only human's ease can be harmful to society.