Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The author infers that universities should mandate every student to take a variety of courses including not only the student's major but also other field of study. Students have to concentrate on developing their knowledge of particular majors and requiring to take variety course may actually can hinder their focus to their major. However, every subject is dependent on other subject and therefore studying other course will be benefit to understanding the student's core field. What is more, nowadays society requires knowledge in multitude area of study. Therefore universities should demand every student to follow a balanced curriculum which includes variety of courses but does not block students concentrating their core study.

I admit that students should have deep knowledge in their knowledge to become an expert of one field. There are many examples who had profound knowledge on his/her major and succeed by applying these knowledge. For example, Bill Gates who was leader of Microsoft was brilliant at computer science. He had hacked into his high school's main computer and made a significant paper about algorithm solving 'pancake sorting problem'. As we all know, he had established Microsoft based on his great skill of computer science and made huge success. Without Bill Gates, there are too many people who made great performance by focusing on their majors and having superior knowledge and skills.

However, requiring to take courses in diverse fields does not always hinder student's concentration on his/her major fields. What is more it can help students have a deeper understand in their core study. There is no field which is independent of all other fields. Every field is dependent to at least one other field. For instance, algorithm which is core subject in Computer Science requires demanding mathematics knowledge. When deciding which one is faster and efficient between many algorithms, we need to calculate and evaluate their performance based on mathematics knowledge. Likewise, artificial intelligence which is also core subject in Computer Science also requires students to have deep understanding in statistics and probability theorem. Without those examples, there are myriad examples of subjects which need other field's knowledge to have thorough understand.

Finally, we should consider that society requires knowledge in multitude fields currently. Nowadays not knowledge in simple field but intuition acquired by uniting diverse fields is essential to success. For example, let us consider Steve Jobs who was leader of Apple. After he dropped out from Reed College he took diverse courses and finally developed his unique product philosophy: convergent product. IPhone is a product which reflects his philosophy well. It converges internet, phone, music listener and email and it makes huge success. Likewise Elon Musk, leader of Tesla, also can success by studying not only his major: business but also applying knowledge of physics and material engineering.

Examples of benefit that taking a variety of courses can provide have been presented to strengthen reasons of my agreement to claim. If the fact that universities can provide students a balanced curriculum which does not burden students and forestall their concentration of their major fields is provided, I agree the view that universities should require every students to take diverse courses including outside their field of study.