The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes hiring only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night to make their business prosper because of the recent study implying the association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the company hiring only workers who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

To begin with, let's consider the recent study. The author offers no information about the participants of the recent study. Most of the participants may be young executives so they are vigorous and need less sleep. Or most of the Mentian advertising executives may be parent of young babies, who need lots of cares during midnight and night and make their unwilling parents sleep less. What is more, executives of Mentian may have to sleep at day and work at night because of company's peculiarity. For example, Mentian may cooperate with corporations in other countries with time difference so that it forces the executives to work at night and sleep at day. What is more, The phrase 'average' in the study could also be misleading. Only considering the average without standard deviation could be interpreted to somewhat different results. What if the executives usually sleep 8~9 hours per night and sleep 2~3 hours only when they are busy because of nigh project deadline, imminent seminar, etc.? Therefore without accessing more detailed information about participants and more data such as standard deviation of sleeping hours, we cannot conclude that hiring workers who sleep less than 6 hours will lead the business's prosper

Secondly, the author assumes that as Mentian advertising executives who sleep less than 6 hours had higher profit margins and faster growth, the new workers in other business similarly would have better performance and grow faster. However it is not logical to believe that particular characteristic which makes the advertising executives successful will also lead the success of new employer in other business. There are lots of differences between advertisement and others and there is some type of works that discourage fewer sleeps. For example, airport requires the pilots to sleep fully before they ride the airplane since lack of sleep can cause disaster. Likewise, requirement of successful executives and other levels of workers such as incoming employee may differ. Therefore it is hasty to claim that business needs to hire only people who sleep less than six hours regardless of the employee's level or type of work that workers should implement to success.

Finally, the author unproperly regards the amount of sleep the workers need as critical factor to success of their firms. However, there is no reason to believe that the success of the company is due only to the number of hours the workers sleep. There are many other factors that could affect the firm's performance. The successful executives may have strong leadership, for example, or they may have strong initiative and drive, etc. Thus the author should elucidate the correlation between the amount of sleep and worker's greater profit margins and growth to corroborate his or her claim.

To sum, the author's assumption that business should hire only people who sleep less than 6 hours for their prosper is logically flawed based on above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and factors affecting the firm's success and employee's great performance. In conclusion, the argument which author proposes reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons and evidence.