The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author proposes modifying all showerheads in twelve buildings to restrict maximum water flow because it will economically benefit the tower complex. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the tower complex from constraining the maximum water flow.

To begin with, the author assumes that restricting maximum water flow to one-third of previous does not cause big inconvenience to dwellers in the building because there were few complains. Yet we cannot be sure that the entailing inconvenience is negligible. People usually do not always complain whenever they feel not comfortable. They may not want to spare time complaining the problems or they may bear the inconvenience just because they do not want to argue with someone. If dwellers in the building actually feel uncomfortable and hesitating to complain, the author's assumption weaken. What is more, because the modification was occurred only one month ago, it is too short period to conclude that people are indifferent to restriction and few complains will be accused later. People may accuse a lot of complains later when they need high water pressure like hot and dry summer.

Let us assume, though, that dwellers in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were actually indifferent to lower maximum water pressure. Then we are prompted to ask whether the people in other nine buildings will be indifferent too. The author unfairly assumes that other building's resident will show same response to those in first three building. But we cannot rule out the possibility that people in other nine buildings require higher water pressure comparing to people in first three buildings. Their work place might be drier and take showers more usually. Without more reasons to justify equaling the people in first three buildings and those in others, we cannot take it for granted.

Thirdly, the author predicts economical benefit because water usage will be reduced corresponding to lower maximum water pressure. It is illogical to believe, however, that decrease in water usage will be entailed just by confining maximum water pressure. People in buildings may use water longer than before because water pressure is low. They may take shower longer than usual. Before we conclude that less water will be used after the modification, we need to access the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment.

Finally, the author does not provide any information about the cost of modifying showerheads. To evaluate whether the adjustment is economical or not, we have to compare the cost and the savings. The savings of modifying all the showerheads in the building might be overwhelmed by costs of repairing them. Before the author provides the actual cost and savings, it is hasty to claim that modification is cost-effective.

To sum, the author's proposal that modifying all the showerheads is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reasons. To strengthen his or her claim, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.