The universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Whether universities should require students to take a variety of courses including outside their core field is controversial. On the one hand, one might say university's primary role is to make students concentrate on their core study and claims that demanding diverse courses can hinder their focus. However, I agree with the statement in that studying distinct field can help students intensifying their core area and diverse courses can provide students an opportunity to find their real interests.

To begin with, I concede that taking a variety courses can be burdensome for students. Students who are currently majoring cook, for example, may regard taking chemical, biology lectures as useless and may be reluctant to pay tuition for registering these lectures. However, nowadays, a number of creative innovations come through combining distinct fields. Well-known cook, for example, applies their chemical knowledge, so called 'molecular gastronomy', to their dishes to make their cook more attractive and taste better. Customers enjoy the fresh savor and attractive appearance of those dishes. Many artists, for another example, accomplish their masterpieces by using bug's character such as glowing at dark environment, changing their body color, etc. If cooks and artists do not have insight of other areas, those dishes and masterpieces may not be extant.

What is more, as society is being more complicated than ever before, there is no field which can stand up solely. Every field is dependent to any others and requires us accumulating knowledge of other areas. For example, consider the algorithm: a solution for particular problem in computer science. Evaluating the performance of specific algorithm and comparing efficiency between algorithms needs proficient skills of math and probability. Without knowledge of math and probability, one could not intensify his/her understand in algorithm. Likewise, to make a well-performed machine which has artificial intelligence, one should study mechanic, statistics, linear algebra, etc. However students entering college are unlikely to know the dependency between their majors and related fields and may take courses only within their major courses. They may consider taking math and linear algebra lectures as useless and boring. Therefore colleges and universities should require students to take a variety of courses and help students fostering their understand of core fields.

Finally, most of students entering colleges do not have sufficient experience to choose their core study firmly. They are likely to choose their majors without considering their talents and interests. They might choose majors merely because of its well-prospected future, safe jobs or parent's recommendation, etc. According to the National Center for Education Statistics, 80 percent of students in college change their majors. What is more, students change their majors three times on average. By requiring students to register diverse courses, the university can provide students a valuable experience and an opportunity to find their real talents or interests.

In conclusion I admit that taking a variety of courses can be burdensome for students. However I firmly believe that primary role of colleges is offering students a broaden curriculum which can intensify their major skills and providing students a sufficient experience to find their talents. Therefore I agree with the statement.