Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds

Whether the laws and legal systems can solve the many problems of modern society is a controversial topic. On the one hand, one might claims that as laws force people to behave optimally and punish who transgress the laws and commit undesirable behaviors, it can solve many problems. However, I agree with the author's claim for several reasons. I will explain my viewpoint in detail.

To begin with, I admit that laws had solved many serious problems of modern society. As the laws can force people not to commit problematic behaviors by punishment, people are likely to act desirable behavior. For example, consider the abolition of slavery by Lincoln. Even though, white people was reluctant to indiscriminate black from white immediately after the law's establishment and need times to change people's undesirable racism, it had actually solved the slavery. If the Lincoln had not established the laws which preclude the slavery, slavery and racism might be still rampant in the United States and suffers the reputation of United States. Likewise, laws can solve some major problems by forcing people's behaviors.

However it does not imply that laws solely can solve the many problems which suffer the modern society. As the society is being more complicated and complex than ever before, there are many problems which are created and disappears nowadays. However, as the society can not establish new laws whenever the problem had arisen and lack abilities to consider all the problems, there are many gaps that laws miss. To illustrate, let us consider water shortage in some countries. Laws do not force every people not to waste their water. As a result, many people in water rich countries can use the waters prodigally and accelerate the water shortage. The problem of water shortage will not be solved unless each people recognize the gravity of water shortage and change their minds not to waste the water. Likewise there are other many problems which laws can not control and require change in people's mind or heart to be solved.

What is more, the laws sometimes can not force people's behavior as the gravity of punishment is recognized differently by each people. People can regard severity of punishments distinctly for several reasons such as wealth, environment, priority, etc. For example, some rich people might regard penalty fee of drunken driving as too small to force them not to drunken drive. They might drive their cars after drinking some beers, even though they recognize that it is illegal behavior, as they regard penalty fee as weak. For another example, there may be some people who consider the penitentiary as sufficient place to live anyway. They are likely to commit illegal behaviors even though they recognize that the verdict will be imprisonment as they think penitentiary as not severe punishment. Likewise, laws solely can not mandate people's behavior as the each people's think about gravity of punishment is divergent.

In conclusion, even though I concede that the laws and legal systems had solved many serious and fundamental problems, I agree with the claim for above mentioned reasons. To solve the problems which are rampant in the modern society, change in people's mind and heart should be on top priority.