"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

The author proposes returning Buzzoff for all the company's pest control services to save money. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are ostensibly reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the company from employing Buzzoff for all its pest control services.

To begin with, the author assumes that Buzzoff had superior performance because there was less damage in Wintervale comparing to damage in Palm city. However evaluating performance only by absolute number of damage could be misleading. We should also consider total value in warehouse to evaluate more precisely. For example, if food value in Palm city warehouse were $100,000 and $30,000 was total value of food in Wintervale we could say that Fly-Away had actually better achievement. What is more, the author assumes that environment in two cities are identical. Yet the author does not offer any reason to believe so. Palm City might have worse conditions to control pest. Its pest may be stronger than other cities because of several reasons: its peculiar climate, humidity of warehouse, etc. Therefore before we assess the performance of the companies, we need more information about conditions of the cities and warehouses.

Secondly, let us assume that Buzzoff actually performed better in identical environment last month. However we still can not conclude that employing Buzzoff will be economical. We should consider the fact that Fly-Away had shorter time to adapt comparing to Buzzoff. Fly-Away might need more times to show their ability. Fly-Away may achieve better results if they fully adapt to Palm City. What is more, one month is too short to determine the company's achievement. Last month's result may be exceptional for several reasons. For example, employers in Fly-Away might went on strike or there were too many rains to work properly in Palm city last month. Therefore we need prolonged data to determine whether Buzzoff is economical option or not.

Thirdly, the author also assumes that Buzzoff can maintain its quality of services regardless of their managing area. The Buzzoff might have small workers so it may not be suitable to manage all pest control services. If its performance deteriorates as their managing area spans, returning to Buzzoff for all pest control services could cause more damage. Therefore the author should provide information about its ability to maintain the performance regardless of working area.

Finally, let us assume though, that all assumptions above actually hold up. Then we are prompted to ask the price charged by each company. Even though Buzzoff can induce less damage comparing to other, its higher cost can outstrip the benefit. For example, if Buzzoff cost $50,000 more than Fly-Away for every month, adopting Fly-Away might be more economical even though Fly-Away cause $10,000 more damage every month.

To sum up, the author's assumption is logically flawed by above mentioned reasons. He or she should closely examine all the factors and conditions before arguing that employing Buzzoff will save money.