Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Whether competition for higher grades is an ideal method of learning is controversial topic. On the one hand, one might say as society is being more competitive than ever before, encouraging competition makes students be ready to enter society and competition can also encourage students a motive to study harder. However I agree with the statement in that competition can hinder student's critical thinking and curiosity. What is more, it can also deprive students an opportunity to enjoy the pleasure of learning.

To begin with, I think that competition can foster student's ability only in limited condition: when studying at relatively low level such as middle school or high school. In South Korea, for example, the competitive society make students to focus on only one goal: higher grade than others. Therefore students in South Korea know how to achieve superior grade than others and actually show great records in international math contest. What is more, Obama, former president of United States regarded Korea's math education as role model which United States should follow. However, we should recognize that there is no Korean Noble Prize winner in academic fields. As many students are likely to memorize algebra and the solutions rather than understanding the principles to get higher score on test during middle school or high school, their math skill is being inferior as going to higher institute such as graduate or colleges. Likewise severe competition can limit learner's ability when learners are studying at higher level.

What is more, sever competition can discourage students from thinking critically and having curiosity. Students who are among competition are likely to uncritically accept the purported facts without doubts and questions. However, curiosity and questioning are one of the most important aspects when studying. For example. let us consider a student who is studying physics. As we all know, curiosity and questioning are critical in physics. Newton discovered gravity by asking why apples fall down. Ada E. Yonath, a Noble Prize winner, states that curiosity is a great momentum to significant scientific finding. However, as the student wishes 'A' on test to win the competition, he/she is unlikely to question why the 'fact' happened and miss the opportunity to discover 'great' finding. Likewise, if society encourages competition for high grades, it can limit student's critical thinking and curiosity.

Finally, severe competition can deprive students an opportunity to enjoy the pleasure of learning which is a very essence of studying. Not a high grade and competition but pleasure can lead to 'true' learning. Music and art, for example, requires us having sufficient leisure time to enjoy its beauty and charm. As great artists had owned unique art technique and musical insight, students without their own musical insight and innovations are nearly impossible to be a successful artist. However, students who are besieged by harsh competition might cram and memorize the crafty art skill and mellifluous melody rather than enjoying its beauty. The students are unlikely to achieve such innovations and unique musical sight even though they might get 'A' on test.

In conclusion, even though I concede that competition can help students achieving great performance at lower level, I agree with the statement based on above mentioned reasons. Competition does not provide unqualified quality of education but it limits student's full potential.