The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by

their contemporaries.

The author infers that individual achievements are recognized only after the individual dies and that his/her contemporaries seldom admire the greatness in his/her lifetime. I partially agree with this view in that some of the well-known greatnesses are readily recognized even when the individuals are alive. It seems that whether the greatness is readily recognizable or not depends on which field the achievement is contributed to. Several examples of achievements in science, art and business will be given to present that some greatnesses of individuals are recognized by their contemporaries while others are neglected during their lifetime.

Many scientific innovators achievements are known to have been ignored by their contemporaries. To illustrate, Copernicus’ hypothesis and formulation on heliocentric cosmology was rebutted by most of his contemporaries. Likewise, Galileo Galilei’s opposition to geocentric view was highly controversial and severely criticized by the Catholic Church because the theory did not concur with the Bible. As a result, Galileo Galilei had to spend the rest of his life under house arrest. Although there are some scientists who were well respected by their contemporaries, such as Thomas Edison and Einstein just to name a few, scientific achievements are more likely to be recognized by those who live after them.

As for artistic achievements, the greatnesses appear to be immediately acknowledged more often than not. Mozart, the greatest and most prolific composer, for instance, became known to the public at an early stage of his life. He produced over 600 musical works, which secured favored positions in the repertoires of his contemporary musicians, not to mention modern pianists. Another example of artistic innovators that were respected by their contemporaries is Michelangelo, who engaged in versatile artistic fields as a painter, sculptor and architect. The Pope recognized his talents and commissioned him to create a great amount of artistic works for the Church. Not only are these artists admired by the current art lovers and critics, they have long enjoyed their fame and greatness since the inception of their artistic careers. It is also true that in some cases artists were totally ignored by their contemporaries, like Van Gogh, who sold only a few paintings in his life time. Nevertheless, in the artistic field, the public tend to appreciate and evaluate achievements more promptly than, other fields.

Similarly, in the realm of business, greatnesses of individuals are more readily recognized by the people with whom they live, compared to the fields of science and art. One of the most well-known entrepreneurs, Bill Gates, who brought a revolution to technology and communication in the twentieth century, is already one of the most influential people in the world. Henry Ford, too, enjoyed a nationwide recognition from the contemporaries when he doubled the minimum wage for his employees and reduced their working hours significantly. He introduced innovative and unconventional business concepts which resulted in both appraisal and criticism from the public. To sum, greatnesses of business figures are more easily recognized since they affect society in more apparent and prompt ways.

Examples of human greatnesses in science, art, and business have been presented to state that some achievements of individuals are recognized by their contemporaries. Scientific achievements are more likely to be recognized by those who live after them whereas greatnesses in art and business are more readily recognized. In conclusion, I partially agree with the author’s slightly skewed view that greatnesses of individuals are not recognized by their contemporaries.