The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes returning to Buzzoff for pest control services. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While the connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the company from returning to Buzzoff for their pest control services.

To begin with, consider the last month's data that the author provides. The author assumes that selecting Buzzoff will save more money than Fly-Away because they damaged less money last month. Yet there is no reason to believe that Buzzoff is better option. Evaluating the performance only by comparing absolute numerical value is not logical. If total value of the fast-food warehouse in Palm City was $1,000,000 while total value of the warehouse in Wintervale was $50,000, for example, we would not say that Buzzoff's performance was better. What's more, considering only last month's data to assess the corporation's achievement could be misleading by several reasons. For example, Fly-Away might have damaged less comparing to the other with the exception of the last month. Or, since the contract with Fly-Away was done only recently, the company may have needed more time to adapt to the warehouse. Therefore, without information of the storehouse's total value and performance data longer than one month, we can not determine which company would save more money.

Let us assume, though, that Fly-Away's performance was worse and it's worse performance will continue. Then we are prompted to ask what causes it's worse performance. Was it, in fact, it's inability? Or were there any other factors that cause more damage? There may be many factors other than company's ability which can affect it's work. For example, Palm city's pests might be stronger than Wintervale's pests because of difference between the environemnt of Palm city and that of Wintervale. Or the storehouse in Palm city might have poor condition to control the pest. Therefore, without answering what causes more destruction in Palm city, we can not project economical benefit.

Similarly, the claim that the company can save more money by preferring Buzzoff depends on the assumption that Buzzoff can keep their quality of work even though the areas where Buzzoff have to manage are being larger. Buzzoff's performance could deteriorate as it's range are spanning. The company may lack workers to manage large area, or it may lack experiences of working in broad area. To satisfy the claim, the author should show that Buzzoff can keep their performance regardless of it's area.

Finally, even if we assume that the above assumptions will all hold up, we cannot take for granted the financial benefit. The author does not present the price charged by each company. Even if Buzzoff provides better performance, if the price charged by the company is much higher than it's benefit it is illogical to choose Buzzoff. For instance, if Fly-Away company costs $10,000 less per month than the other it is logical to choose Fly-Away even if $5000 worth of food has saved more every month when the company uses Buzzoff's pest control services.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the author's proposal reveals that the company does not have enough justification to prefer Buzzoff. Although the proposal certainly points out a possible course of action, the company should not act until they have more information.